Angelly Continues Reign of JEGS Summer Door Car Shootout; Reid, Hamma, Grams also Score Big

Benton, IL: I-57 Dragstrip once again hosted the “Biggest Little Doorcar Race in the Midwest”last weekend: The 9th annual JEGS Summer Door Car Shootout. A sold out field of 200 entrants converged on the southern Illinois facility despite temperatures in the 90’s and heat indexes that surpassed triple figures!

On-track action began Friday with the Ohio Crankshaft $7500-to-win main event. There, local standout Dave Angelly picked up right where he left off in 2018: the winner’s circle! Angelly, who also won the Moser Engineering Sunday $7500-to-win Main Event to close last years event, drove his Camaro roadster to an anti-climatic victory over David Camden. Camden broke on his semi-final bye run in dramatic fashion (his Vega spit the pinion gear out of the car and onto the racing surface!), and was unable to return for the final, handing the automatic victory to Angelly. Jason McKague was the lone semi-finalist.

Saturday brought the marquee festivities of the JEGS Summer Door Car Shootout, as the BRODIX Cylinder Heads main event was followed by the APD Quick 16 contest and the ever-popular Laris Motorsports Insurance King of Illinois Shootout. In addition, the annual Saturday night tribute to the fans included the JEGS Wheelie Wagon contest, the Mickey Thompson Burnout contest, the JEGS fan frisbee toss, and assorted shenanigans!

Local Illinois racer Kevin Reid got the day started by driving his S-10 to the $7500 BRODIX Main Event victory with the final round triumph over Indiana based Bobby Stephens. Mike Crick was the lone semi-finalist.

Following the main event, Reid continued his mastery of the I-57 1/8th mile, advancing to the final round of the APD Quick 16 before finally watching the opposing win light come on for the first time in 12 rounds of competition. The man to end his reign was none other than Charlie Hamma, who drove his Digital Delay backed Cutlass to the $2,000 victory over the quickest and fastest cars on the property.

Mike Crick and David Hearn were the finalists in the Mickey Thompson Tires Burnout Contest, and did they ever put on a show for the huge spectator crowd that gathered despite the brutal heat Saturday evening. In a controversial crowd decision, Hearn was declared the Burnout Contest winner. Both drivers put on one heck of a show!

Lucas Walker continued his reign as the undisputed JEGS Wheelie Contest champion of the Summer Door Car Shootout. For a third consecutive season, Walker dazzled fans with a gorgeous 300+ foot wheelie from his footbrake Mustang. He got the nod in the Saturday night runoff over Indiana’s Jeff Wright.

The Laris Motorsports Insurance King of Illinois concluded Saturday night action at the SDCS. The unique “Hi-Roller” format of that event features a $500 entry fee, with 100% payback, winner-take-all. This season, 44 competitors entered, making the winner’s purse a whopping $22,000! When the smoke cleared, it was Missouri’s Jason Grams who claimed the richest prize of the weekend by defeating Jason McKague in the final round. Lane Dicken was the lone semi-finalist.

Within the JEGS Dial for Dollars on Sunday morning, event competitors raised more than $1800 for the JEGS Foundation for Cancer Research, bringing the lifetime donation from the JEGS Summer Door Car Shootout to over $17,000! Mitchell Angelly won the Dial for Dollars competition with a .004 package, taking home a $500 JEGS certificate for his efforts.

Sunday’s Moser Engineering main event was narrowed down to 3 remaining contestants, each vying for the $7500 top prize before rain showers ended the weekend action. Remaining competitors Zach Schlumpf, Caleb Rediker, and Justin Smiddy elected to split the purse.

In addition to the event winners and runner-ups, hundreds of competitors walked away with cash and prizes thanks to the unique Summer Door Car Shootout “Door” Prize program. In all, more than $30,000 in prizes were distributed to competitors for various feats and random awards. For a complete list of prizes and winners, click here.